December 2016 Newsletter

Click here to read the December 2016 newsletter.

November 2016 WLS Newsletter

Click here to view the November 2016 WLS newsletter.

Job Opportunity – Attorney Investigator

Job Opportunity — Attorney Investigator


Ellis Buehler Makus LLP (the Firm) seeks a creative and detail-oriented attorney with one to three years of experience practicing employment law to join its workplace investigations team as an Attorney Investigator. The Attorney Investigator is responsible for conducting impartial investigations for public and private employer clients throughout California. This includes investigations into complaints of a wide array of issues, including workplace harassment, fraud and compliance, and whistleblower complaints.

About the Firm

The Firm’s practice is almost exclusively focused on conducting workplace investigations for public and private employers throughout California. The Firm has three partners, with extensive experience practicing employment law, including litigation, advice and counsel and workplace investigations. More information about the Firm can be found on its website at

Minimum qualifications:

  • Member of the California State Bar in good standing
  • 1-3 years of experience practicing employment law, with litigation experience preferred
  • Excellent legal writing and analytical skills
  • Excellent oral and written communication skills
  • Strong Microsoft Office skills
  • Ability to travel within California
  • Ability to work remotely
  • Strong work ethic and excellent attention to detail and follow through
  • Ability to work independently and exercise excellent judgment
  • Ability to manage multiple projects and competing deadlines

Desired qualifications:

  • Experience counseling clients on employment law matters, whether employees or employers
  • Strong interviewing skills
  • Familiarity with state and federal EEO laws
  • Formal training in workplace investigations a plus


  • Conduct impartial and thorough investigations for clients
  • Write detailed, accurate, and substantiated reports, including complex legal analyses
  • Edit and proofread investigation reports
  • Conduct legal research and counsel clients on employment law issues
  • Prepare and present training materials
  • Research and prepare responses to requests for proposals
  • Perform administrative duties
  • Engage in business development activities

To apply, please submit resume, cover letter and writing sample to Lisa Stewart at

October 2016 WLS Newsletter

Dear Members,

Please click here to view the October 2016 Women Lawyers of Sacramento newsletter.

September 2016 Newsletter

Please click here to read the September 2016 WLS Newsletter.

Call for Nominations for the 2016 Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award

Call for Nominations for the 2016 Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award

The Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award is a prestigious annual award given by Women Lawyers of Sacramento to an outstanding lawyer, judge, or scholar in the Sacramento community in celebration of the awardee’s professional achievements, commitment to furthering legal opportunities for women in the law, and contribution to the lives of women and children in our community.

The Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award was established by WLS in 1994 to honor the late Justice Frances Newell Carr (October 27, 1923 – January 16, 1992), who was a founder and the first president of WLS in 1962.  Justice Carr was appointed by Governor Jerry Brown to the Sacramento County Superior Court and was the first woman judge appointed in the county.  In 1978, she was elected the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court, and in 1980, she was appointed to the Third District Court of Appeal, where she served until her passing in 1992.  In addition to her professional achievements, Justice Carr had vision and commitment to her community.

The 2016 Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award for Professional Excellence will be presented at the WLS December luncheon.

If you would like to nominate an individual for the award, contact Vanessa Hunter, (, Tara Rojas (, and Elizabeth Dietzen Olsen (, Co-Chairs of the Grants and Awards Committee.  Nominations will be accepted until September 16, 2016.

In your nomination, please address how the proposed nominee has met the following four criteria: (1) served in the community; (2) achieved professional excellence in his/her career; (3) assisted women to pursue legal careers; and (4) personally advanced opportunities for women in the law.  Each nomination also should include curriculum vitae of the nominee, and three letters of recommendation, with each letter supporting at least one of the four criteria regarding the nominee.  Nominations that do not include this information will not be considered.

Previous recipients of the award include: the Honorable Alice Lytle (1994), Virginia Mueller (1995), the Honorable Cecily Bond (1996), Charity Kenyon (1997), the Honorable Faith Geoghegan (1998), Marian Johnston (1999), Professor Martha West (2000), Joan Stone (2001), Lily Spitz (2002), the Honorable Judy H. Hersher (2003), the Honorable James Mize (2004), Pauline Gee (2005), the Honorable Emily Vasquez (2006), Windie Olivia Scott (2007), Dean Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker (2008), Karen M. Goodman (2009), Jean McEvoy (2010), Ruthe Ashley (2011), the Honorable M. Kathleen Butz (2012), Patricia Sturdevant (2013), the Honorable Kimberly J. Mueller (2014), and Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye (2015).

August 2016 Newsletter

Click here to view the August 2016 WLS Newsletter!

July 2016 Newsletter

Click here to view the July 2016 Newsletter.

June 2016 Newsletter

June 2016 Newsletter.