January 24 Lunch Presentation – #METOO: NOW WHAT?

October/November 2018 Newsletter

Please click here for the October/November 2018 Newsletter.



2018 Supreme Court Reception

Click here to register for this event.

2018 Unity Bar Dinner

September Newsletter

Please click here to view the September Newsletter.

August Newsletter

Click here to download the August 2018 Newsletter.

June/July Newsletter

Click here to download the June/July Newsletter.


The Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award is a prestigious annual award given by Women Lawyers of Sacramento to an outstanding lawyer, judge, or scholar in the Sacramento community in celebration of the awardee’s professional achievements, commitment to furthering legal opportunities for women in the law, and contribution to the lives of women and children in our community.

The Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award was established by WLS in 1994 to honor the late Justice Frances Newell Carr (October 27, 1923 – January 16, 1992), who was a founder and the first president of WLS in 1962.  In December 1975, Justice Carr was appointed by Governor Jerry Brown and became the first woman to be appointed to the bench of the Superior Court, Sacramento County.  In 1978, she was elected the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court, and in 1980, she was appointed to the Third District Court of Appeal, where she served until her passing in 1992.  In addition to her professional achievements, Justice Carr had vision and commitment to her community.

The 2018 Frances Newell Carr Achievement Award for Professional Excellence will be presented at the WLS December luncheon. If you would like to nominate an individual for the award, please contact Tara Rojas, Vice Chair of the Grants and Awards Committee.  Nominations will be accepted until September 15, 2018.

May 2018 Newsletter

Find the May 2018 Newsletter here.